NC Fathers Rights

Shawn Adele Fabian-Schmidt

Shawn Adele Fabian-SchmidtShawn Adele Fabian-Schmidt is a non-custodial mother in North Carolina who has had one supervised hour of visitation with her children in over 2050 days. This is more visitation than inmates in Raleigh get with their children and it is time for the Onslow County NC Courts, along with Onslow County Department of Social Services, to bring this matter to a resolution. In reading about Shawn Adele Fabian-Schmidt, many may be quick to point out her past mistakes which are significant, but she has payed her debt to society and is making needed changes to her life. By keeping children away from another parent for over 2050 days without so much as a supervised visit, we believe that the father in this matter, along with DSS and court officials, are creating an environment that will make reunification with Shawn Adele Fabian-Schmidt difficult for the children which is not in the best interest for them. Many in our organization might be shocked to learn that NC Fathers is helping Shawn Adele Fabian-Schmidt (a non-custodial mother), after all our organization is supposed to be creating a system where there are more non-custodial mothers and custodial fathers right? WRONG! Our organization believes that NO parent should be stigmatized to a different role than another parent. We are not here to reverse roles, and see more non-custodial mothers, we are here to advocate for all non-custodial parents in their quest to become equal parents with equal access especially when they have done bad things and make changes. NC Fathers also has a message for the ex-husband of Shawn, being a father in North Carolina who usually winds up on the wrong side of custody matters, you would likely be on our site claiming how the system is unfair and how you rarely see your children. Given this fact, seeing you capitalize on Shawn’s past and alienating her from the kids in this matter is beyond comprehension. One would think you would understand the plight of non-custodial parents and work for a system that is about equality and one that puts children first. We also believe this issue is very much related to this mother’s case.

Onslow County NC

This article was redacted after several family members of the custodial father showed up on this site making rather unfortunate remarks regarding Shawn Adele Fabian-Schmidt. At this point, we wanted to remove the information she sent to us and put our own information in regarding this case.

We realize the custodial family in this matter wants to maintain control and custody, and it seems they are prepared to do anything to prevent Shawn from ever proving she has made changes and deserves reunification with her children even if supervised for awhile. In our opinion, this is a classic example of how one parent and family will capitalize on another parents problem in an effort to alienate the children from the parent so that control can be maintained. Yet, if their son was in this situation, they would be screaming supervised visitation. It’s rather sick.

As a non-custodial parent advocate, NC Fathers is calling on Onslow County NC court officials and DSS to immediately find a resolution to this matter so that Shawn Adele Fabian-Schmidt and her children can be reunited and start the process of re-building their lives. No parent, regardless of what they have done, should lead to being removed from children’s lives for this long especially when changes have been made and there are ample ways for this mother and her children to see each other safely on a routine basis. This case demonstrates just how abusive the family courts and Social Services has become in their process of allowing two parents to excoriate each other for the grand prize of custody, and in doing so creating an environment where the other parent is marginalized to a second class role in natural biological children lives.

Update 4/30/2013

In the past few hours, several people have commented on this article claiming to be from the custodial parent side of the family. Clearly they are not happy about the article and believes that the non-custodial parent has no right to her first amendment rights. The words slander and lawsuits have been thrown around, yet these individuals are all too happy to use their own slanderous words towards this mother. No doubt, they will call their attorney tomorrow and we will likely hear from him/her on why we should take this article down even though the people commenting have actually gone much further in publicly denigrating the person we are advocating for in this article.

Here is the problem and why this site exists. Custodial parents LOVE to point out the faults of non-custodial parents and as it appears in the comments, the people commenting actually LIKE the fact that the non-custodial mother in this case did what she did and they are all too happy to remind her of it EVEN IF she is attempting to correct her wrongs. Actually, it seems they don’t want her to correct her wrongs, they want her to remain a very bad person so that their family member can maintain control and custody. We suspect that if Shawn Adele Fabian-Schmidt does anything right, there will be people who will want to and need her to fail so that the system works in their favor. While this may work for them, the problem here is that the children in this case have a natural love for their mother and need to be seeing her even it is supervised. I suspect if the custodial father in this matter had done anything wrong and he was not allowed to see his kids in 2050 days even though he is putting his life back together, the individuals commenting would have a different take on this. Unfortunately, what I think will happen in this case is that the children, upon age 18, will find their mother and will have been socialized to think she is a bad person, they will learn that she made some very bad mistakes, got her life together, but even in doing so there was a family law process and other side of the family who was more concerned about control and custody rather than forgiveness and working together and we think that is going to have implications for these children as adults and could possible cause the children to not think highly of the custodial parent and his family.

To the lawyer who undoubtedly will be called by the custodial side of this family tomorrow in and effort to get this article removed, you may want to look at the comments below and made by your clients family before proceeding.

People ask me all the time “How this could have happened?” My answer is still the same. I have no idea.

By Shawn Adele Fabian-Schmidt

In 2005 My ex husband came home from Iraq a changed man. We had had problems of Domestic Violence for years which eventually led to me leaving him in 08’. At which time he came down to my home state of Texas to retrieve myself and our two kids with promises of “getting help”. It never happened. There are police reports showing how intense the situation grew, however they were always based on lies. He’d leave me stranded at home and run to the magistrate to file charges in which I would be picked up and put in jail, most dismissed never gaining conviction but 1 for simple assault. In 09’ I decided to separate and asked him to not return to our home. He did that and due to money and his career he decided to make it a legal separation hiring Deke Owens out of John Drew Warlick Law Firm in Jacksonville, NC. I hired Vicki O’Brian after receiving my initial paperwork, an attorney with Collins and Maready also in Jacksonville, NC. Ms. O’Brian later passed my case onto Ms. Maready due to her transfer to practice Law at Camp Lejeune. There are several police reports stemming from March of 09’ to Aug of 09’ for various reasons made by my ex husband, non of which held ground for charge until Aug 23rd of 09’. He stated I tried to “Run him over with the car”. Assault with a deadly weapon against a US Marine. The event never happened. The officers involved wrote the report and my ex did what he always did, took it to the magistrate. It was dismissed that night so he returned the following morning and it was given. I was arrested and taken from my home, our children, my vehicle, income, and life. He filed an emergency restraining order and to this day I have yet to be allowed back. Now having Ann Maready as my attorney, she had taken most of Ms. O’Brian’s caseload, I was an inconvenience. My Case was shuffled and excused never being properly advised. I didn’t have the money to hire an attorney for the criminal charge so I was court appointed Lee Britt. My criminal case (involving Shawn Adele Fabian-Schmidt) was continued over and over again until May 3rd 2010 at which time he brought no witness testimony, not even the police officers into defend me. I was Convicted off hearsay by Judge Caroline Jones. During that time, the lies had continued. At first my ex stated the children were with me at the time I tried to run him over which involved DSS of Onslow County. Sue Patterson was my investigative caseworker. She claimed she had spoken with witness that I later proved she in fact never did. I was charged with child neglect in punishment for tearing a care bears head off and neglect by injurious environment for the front steps of my home being removed and at said time of arrest being changed out with new one, just hadn’t completed yet. She said since they were not connected, it was injurious. My DSS case was passed to Robin Isenheart. Where I was ordered to under go classes and receive supervised visits. My ex husband immediately after my arrest went after custody of my children, and had even tried to add them to the restraining order but was unable too as my crime had nothing to do with them. I had actually signed up and started classes long before ever being told to go, so when asked to go by DSS I was already going. My ex excused himself from a couple of the supervised visits by taking children out of state and work, so in total I receive 6 one hour visits supervised by DSS from Aug 24th 2009 to Jan of 10’ when he accused me of violating the restraining order by contacting my children. DSS had told me the children could receive phone calls from me, although I had told them and they were well aware of the restraining order I could not call my home phone (which he now had possession of) or his cell phone to talk to them, they told me to buy them cell phones. I did. Through T-Mobile. He in turn in Jan of 10’ told Judge Sarah Seaton I violated the order by calling my kids on their phones because I said hello when he answered the phone. She added my children to the restraining order and continued the criminal case. (All of this went in front of Jones in May of 10’) My ex had tried me 3 times on 3 different occasions for violating the restraining order.

  • I had sent my father to check on my children.
  • I had gone to residence to check on minor child when he left her home alone.
  • Calling the children’s phones to talk to them.

When I went to court in May of 10’ I was convicted for 1 & 2 but not 3. My father was in another state burring his brother, unable to testify. So this was hear say. I did go check on my child when she was left alone so that was legit if there would have ever been a real truthful conviction to prosecute me on. In November of 2009 Ann Maready had gone to court for me during my first custody hearing. She stated that signing over “Temporary custody without prejudice” Was with in the best interest of all involved and that it could never be used against me in the future. I trusted that. After signing she told me I needed to “Take a moment with Jesus.” My ex had come to me that following month and told me if I fired her, he would let me see my kids freely. So I did. For reasons just that. May 3rd I was convicted of nothing more than hear say for the following:

  • Assault with a deadly weapon
  • Violation of a restraining order

And sent from the bench to serve 48 hours in county jail. My divorce was heard on May 5th prior to my release. No one let me go to my hearing although I wrote the Lt. a request to go. I was released that evening and put on intense probation for a year on May 6th. My probation officer was Gail Hargett. I was asked to pay my monthly fines, probation costs and also to under go an Abuser Program, which I did all of. In Aug of 2010, my daughter made contact over Facebook. Because Lee Britt had thrown me under the bus, and I knew this was a violation of probation I hired Ed Bailey, also out of Jacksonville NC. Yes I wrote her back. What mother wouldn’t?? Judge Hardison set a $10,000 bond and I spent weeks in jail to gain the money to get out. When I finally did make it in front of the Judge, I was convicted and sent to Texas to spend the remaining time of my probation. I (Shawn Adele Fabian-Schmidt) left that December. Aldo Judge Thagard wrote up an order stating clearly that in any future issues he was the only judge to hear this case. At said time I was advocating against domestic violence and aiding women all over the county in getting out and getting help. I was asked to go to court by the state as a state witness in one case. I went. My ex seen me in town, called the police stating I “drew a smiley face in his driveway made of sand.” I was charged. Court appointed attorney Lee Britt, again because I didn’t have funds for an attorney. I went in front of Judge Thagard. Convicted. 45 days in prison. What gained this conviction wasn’t the lie I was charged with but my honesty in saying I was in town for court. His advice was that I should not have broken the court order, that when it was lifted he would have taken care of the bench warrant. Which I did not know to do. The day I was released from probation, I did exactly what I had stated I was going to do all along. I was going to have lunch with my daughter at school. I had called Major West of the Onslow County Sherriffs Dept and made arrangements to be received by the resource officer at the school to assure all paperwork was good and I was clear by the law to do so. My ex went to Judge Thagard and told him I tried to remove my children from the school. He then ordered a Civil No Contact order set indefinite or until we go back before him. My family hired Waneta Ellis out of New Hanover, NC while I served my time in prison. Since then, she was relieved from the firm and my case was passed to William Paragoy. I received ONE one hour supervised visit with my children March of 12’. The children’s councilor, Louise Biller, decided to cut them until I got a court order because she didn’t like my lawyers tone. (Have proof of that too) He has held my case for nearly 2 years and I have yet to get in front of Judge Thagard. I have since hired a detective to get statements from all police involved proving my innocence in every allegation. Which I have. I have done everything asked in past to correct any ill notion set by anyone at any time through the entirety of this mess. Classes. 3 years steady therapy. I learned to tuck my head low and just “get thru this. Never giving up. I live, breath, eat every moment to get back to my children. I am not an advocate for women and children. I live in Raleigh as the lies continue. I was slandered to the point I could no longer bear. It still continues but now it’s over the internet. My family has split due do differences in opinions on what I should now do. My mother feels I should return to Texas and put this all in Gods hands and My father feels I should tell Judge Thagard what has happened and leave him to decide mine and my children’s fate. All I can think of is getting back to them. I have literally been in front of every single Judge in Onslow County at one time or another since Aug of 09’. They have ALL stamped my case in one form or another. Which is all on public record. I am Shawn Adele’ Fabian-Schmidt 1203552, Birth Mother of 2 beautiful kids and I will not rest until I hug my children and kiss their foreheads.

Lee Britt is now an Attorney for Onslow County DSS

Louise Biller is a former DSS worker

March 29, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized

37 Comments »

  1. Prayers for this family first and foremost. The time that has been lost will be never be replaced. I pray these children will not have to continue to suffer. Let her see her babies!

    Like

    Comment by Shannon | March 29, 2013 | Reply

  2. http://ireport.cnn.com/docs/DOC-813288 My son was not allowed to see his daughter for over 2 years…..as the ex and her sibling filed *false accusations* against him. He was indicted TWICE for crimes which DID NOT HAPPEN….it took over 2 years for ALL CRIMINALS CHARGES to be dismissed. Nothing was done about the *false charges being filed*….there was a *consent order* for visitation which the ex DID NOT FOLLOW. The ex withdrew my granddaughter from school and moved out of the state. My son and attorney requested an emergency custody hearing and the ex was given 10 days to return to NC. The Judge told the ex that the child would not be removed from NC again. And the judge also reinstated the visitation until a custody hearing can be heard. It is quite interesting what *people will do and get by with doing it*.

    Like

    Comment by mimilll | March 29, 2013 | Reply

  3. I feel your pain … I have suffered similar pain. Don’t give up …. SS is now seeing the light and agreeing with me, it just takes time. Be strong.

    Like

    Comment by Dennis Rafferty | April 5, 2013 | Reply

  4. What Shawn isn’t telling you is that she physically abused not only her ex-husband, but also her children. I am the children’s grandmother and have seen the hell my grandchildren have gone through. Before you publish something you better get your facts straight. These children have been in therapy for 3 years over the abuse their mother put them through. My grandson. age 11, is still having nightmares about the fact he may be forced to have to spend time with his mother. My grandddaughter, age 14, has said she will under no circumstances have any type of unsupervised visits with her mother. Does this sound like children who were not abused by her? Like I said, make sure you get your facts straight so you are not sued for slander

    Like

    Comment by Dana C. Schmidt | April 30, 2013 | Reply

    • Hi Dana,
      Your threat for suit of slander was laughed at. I am very well of Shawn’s past and she wrote this, not us. In these matters we have to laugh, because had your son been on the losing end of this dispute for mistakes he made, you and he would be the ones within our organization calling for some type of relationship with his children if he had made steps to correct said mistakes. In fact, we find it interesting that your son, who normally would have lost custody of his case and been alienated from his children per the statistics of the family courts, he is doing exactly what custodial mothers have done for decades against fathers. Neither your son, nor Shawn deserves to never see their children again because of mistakes. The fact that your son even refuses to offer visitation that is secured, tells me that your attempting to purposefully alienate her from the children even when security is maximized. I hope the Judge in a future case is aware of this. Be careful Dana, as statistics go, your son and his custody is not secure and if you find yourself on the reverse side of this case, you might just be here doing exactly what Shawn is doing.

      Like

      Comment by stompkinsnc | April 30, 2013 | Reply

  5. Not threatening… just stating facts, which are all a mater of public record in NC courts

    Like

    Comment by Dana C. Schmidt | April 30, 2013 | Reply

    • Agreed. I will refer you to the first amendment of the United States Constitution. Have a good day.

      Like

      Comment by stompkinsnc | April 30, 2013 | Reply

      • Hi Shawn! Nice to hear from you again!

        Like

        Comment by Dana C. Schmidt | April 30, 2013

      • Mrs Schmidt, Shawn does not have access to our website as a volunteer. We are an organization that advocates for non-custodial families which she is. We find it kind of interesting that you have an issue with Shawn getting the word out about her matter and threatening lawsuits, then here you are on the public Internet doing exactly what you have a problem with. You made your point, we approved it, rebutted it, but we are not going to continue this back and forth and allow you to abuse this website and harass it’s volunteers because you think this is Shawn Adele Fabian-Schmidt.

        Like

        Comment by stompkinsnc | April 30, 2013

  6. Well, if that is the case you should also know that she has been offered supervised visits on several occasions and hasn’t bothered to show up.

    Like

    Comment by Dana C. Schmidt | April 30, 2013 | Reply

  7. And I don’t believe the harrassment is on my end.

    Like

    Comment by Dana C. Schmidt | April 30, 2013 | Reply

    • Ma’am, you came to our site, we didn’t come to you.

      Like

      Comment by stompkinsnc | April 30, 2013 | Reply

      • Or, if your son had made a bad mistake, would you tell him that he should never see his child again? Unfortunately, at age 18, no Judge can prevent Shawn from supplying these adult child with information that showed where she made a very bad mistake, is correcting them, but the other parent still capitalized on it and prevented access. I would hate to be in your shoes then.

        Like

        Comment by stompkinsnc | April 30, 2013

    • Dana, here is what we would tell Shawn if you and your Son were the one experiencing this. In this situation, it appears that the parent in control actually LIKES the fact that the other parent got into trouble so that the parent in power can keep the power. When in fact, the best interest of the child is for both families to put past mistakes aside, advocate and support each other, each of you help the other parent get better when they make mistakes and become better people. This is what the children will expect. Are you sure you aren’t doing everything possible to make her out to be bad and capitalizing on it so that you can maintain control?

      Like

      Comment by stompkinsnc | April 30, 2013 | Reply

  8. Unbelievable! The fact that this organization would publish these lies is absolutely unacceptable. This individual is a compulsive lier and wouldn’t know the truth if it jumped up and smacked her in the face.

    You really need to get your facts straight!

    Shawn, your name may be on the birth certificates but you are no Mom! You are an abusive, lieing, cheating drug addict and the courts see you for what you are!

    Like

    Comment by Dawn McNamara | April 30, 2013 | Reply

    • We know lots of liars, abusers, drug addicts, and cheaters who got their lives together and went on to do great things. Again, are the people commenting on this article secretly WANTING this person to be that way so that the family can maintain control and alienate a child from another parent? I know a Gunny in the Marine Corp who was an alcoholic and domestic offender, who changed his life and has gone on to do great things. I also wonder, if the father in this case has ever done anything wrong, would his family advocate for him never seeing his child again? Oh how easy it is to thrown stones.

      Like

      Comment by stompkinsnc | April 30, 2013 | Reply

    • Dawn it must be nice to be perfect and never make mistakes. If only parents could learn to support the other parents through hardships even after a divorce instead of needing them to be bad people so that one parent can maintain control and custody. We may have less very sick kids.

      Like

      Comment by stompkinsnc | April 30, 2013 | Reply

  9. You obviously don’t know this individual. I applaud people that turn their lives around. However, those of us that know the truth in this case know that Shawn has not changed, her lies are obvious and as you said… written by Shawn.

    You say it must be nice to be perfect and not make mistakes. So, just how many mistakes is it okay for a parent to make before the courts step in and say enough? Just how many beatings and abuse does a child have to take before it is appropriate for the state to say NO MORE.

    I hope Shawn does turn her life around, for her sake. Unfortunately, her words above are proof that she does not accept responsiblitiy for her actions.

    I hope you find happiness in life Shawn. Everyone deserves happiness.

    Like

    Comment by Dawn McNamara | April 30, 2013 | Reply

    • Dawn, if the situation was reversed, I doubt things would be so cut and dry as you attempted to state it here huh? It’s easy to be so cut and dry when you have control. I don’t see anything here that suggests you want Shawn to succeed. You appear to want her to remain a very bad person so your family member can maintain control. See our update in the main article.

      Like

      Comment by stompkinsnc | April 30, 2013 | Reply

  10. Yes, it is easy to be so cut and dry when there are children involved. It’s your story at this point. And, yes, I am pretty sure you will hear from a lawyer or two tomorrow and that is so sad.

    Like

    Comment by Dawn McNamara | April 30, 2013 | Reply

    • We have heard from many before, and we will be happy to retain your IP address and email address regarding your slanderous comments.

      Like

      Comment by stompkinsnc | April 30, 2013 | Reply

      • Oh please, IP addresses are as unreliable as Shawn’s word!

        Like

        Comment by Dawn McNamara | May 1, 2013

      • Not in this case.

        Like

        Comment by stompkinsnc | May 1, 2013

  11. People do make mistakes….and SOME people do change. However, there are a LOT of people who do not change. I can’t say either way if Shawn has changed, has she gone through the courses and necessary requirements, i guess so. But that alone does not mean someone has changed. She put her hands on her children inappropriately, and as a parent you are supposed to protect your children. I believe their father is protecting them from possible future danger. It is very hard to BELIEVE someone has changed just because they say they’ve changed or because they received some counseling or courses. Your first obligation as a parent is to protect your children, especially when they can’t protect themselves. So many parents are given “second” chances and those children wind up seriously hurt and sometimes dead. I have been in an abusive relationship and I know first hand what can happen when they say they have changed , yet come to find out they were just a really good liar. I understand this is a hard situation for everyone involved, I have been there. I also believe that the father is doing what he feels is in the best interest of his children. I know people make mistakes…..and it is unfortunate. But Shawn is an adult and made the choice to put her hands on her kids, not show up for supervised visits, break restraining orders, etc. She made several mistakes. Yes, I have made mistakes, but I have NEVER put my children in harms way. In this situation It would be hard to let my ex have any contact with my kids….because there is always the “what if” they haven’t changed…. and my children are in danger. This wasn’t one mistake. It was a series of events that led to this situation. And each side has their version…..but what can’t be denied is no one is falsely accused THAT MANY TIMES. I am sure Shawn is hurting. But, in reading her story (and I was around for some of these events) the one thing she is not doing is OWNING UP to her mistakes. All I saw in her story was how she was trying to make excuses for each incident or deny them completely. Which if I was the father, I would have a hard time believing she has changed if she can’t even admit her mistakes. The first way to recognize change is to own up to your mistakes. You can’t move forward without the truth. The ONLY priority is the children’s well being mentally and physically.

    Like

    Comment by Jen | May 1, 2013 | Reply

    • The problem with this is that there are custodial parents who have put their hands on kids, broken restraining orders, and done things. Everyone thinks custodial parents are perfect souls incapable of wrong. I stand by my assertion that the commenters here WANT Shawn to never be able to make changes or re-gain visitation with her children, yet would be asking for the same if the custodial parent was on the opposite side of this coin.

      Like

      Comment by stompkinsnc | May 1, 2013 | Reply

    • I am a custodial father who has custody for very good reasons. In fact, I control all visitation and can legally deny visitation to the mother. However, I realized the importance of the natural parent in the child’s life and make sure she has as much supervised visitation as she wants because my daughter needs to see, smell, hear, and feel her mothers presence. Therefore, I have a problem with this posters “all or nothing” approach. I agree that from the OTHER posters this family is hell bent on making her bad even if she changes to keep their status. NC Fathers, your going to never win with people like this. Let them spent their $100,000 with attorneys and screw their kids up for the love of some family court designation.

      Like

      Comment by Paul | May 1, 2013 | Reply

      • Ah some civility finally in this, “I am going to use the public Internet to say and do whatever I need to protect my custody and control (or my families and friends) and not think about the kids” comments that we have seen the past 12 hours. Paul, thank you for getting it.

        Like

        Comment by stompkinsnc | May 1, 2013

  12. I am going to finish this here and now….. you have no idea how we as a family have supported Shawn…we loved her and forgave her many times when the abuse was just to my son. We still love her and DO want her to have contact with her children. We would like nothing more than to have this family back in one piece and to have her have contact with her children. But it will only be supervised visits. There have been MANY set up and she was a no show. Both children confronted her with what she did to them the last time they saw her and she refuses to believe she abused them because she was too high to remember what she did to them I hope that one day we and they can have a relationship with her. We are not trying to punish her, Right now our number one priority are our children and grandchildren. She can see them anytime she wants as
    long as it is supervised. We have had divorces in this family and have remained friends with the exes. They are welcomed into our homes at holiday times and special occasions. They have even stayed in our homes with their new spouses when they came on vacations to see ex family members. We have stayed in their homes when we have vacationed. You do not know what you are talking about in this case. Again we are not punishing her or trying to control her. We do not believe in using children as weapons. All she needs to do to see her children is show up.

    Like

    Comment by Dana C. Schmidt | May 1, 2013 | Reply

  13. I have the honor of calling this woman a friend. She is a true blessing to anybody who’s life she comes in cotact with. I am a father of four children, ranging in ages 15, 12, 4, and 2 years old. My children mean more to me then life itself, and I would have no doubts leaving them in her care. UNSUPERVISED. Her children are the first thing she thinks about when she wakes up in the morning, and the last thing she thinks about before bed. She has also taken every class the courts have told her too, and then some. I think this is a grave injustice to this mother, and has to be addressed as soon as possible.

    Like

    Comment by Gerald | May 4, 2013 | Reply

  14. I also personally know this family. And here is what I can add to this. The custodial parent claims to have been abused physically by Shawn since the beginning of their marriage and according to his families comments on here they claim to have known about it. If this is true then why did the now custodial parent leave his children in Shawn’s care for months on end through I believe 4 deployments with no family around to ensure their safety? Maybe it is because they were not in any danger. I too have left my children in Shawn’s care unsupervised and have never felt uncomfortable about doing so. I was someone who has been a part of these children’s lives from the oldest being 2 and the youngest since birth I am now not allowed to communicate with them because I have told the custodial parent that he was wrong. I can tell you that at no point in time have I ever seen any signs of abuse. I believe this is all a ploy so that the custodial parent can keep everything. Before I was completely cut off from the children their oldest who always told me when she was mad at her parents and why has never said that she or anyone in their home had been abused. Their oldest also contacted me after their supervised visit that she was so happy that she got to see her mom and that she had forgotten how much she missed her. Personally that does not sound like a child afraid of her mother. As for Shawn not showing up, I have text messages and pictures that can prove that wrong. Shawn was so excited for the following visit with her children and had made Easter baskets for them and sent me pictures. Just a short while later I got a call from Shawn devastated because the visit had been cancelled. I have said all along that it is absurd that after this long there is still no order for supervised visits from the court. Shame on you North Carolina and SHAME on the custodial parent who had always told me that he would grant her supervised visits and it has still been this long. SHAME on his family for allowing this to continue. And just so everyone is clear it is not just Shawn that can no longer communicate with these children it is anyone who sees that the custodial parent is WRONG! That proves that he is just attempting to keep the power. So for all of his supporters be careful or you can end up just like me and Shawn and everyone else who is no longer allowed to share in these children’s lives.

    Like

    Comment by Gabriell | May 5, 2013 | Reply

  15. I have grown to known Shawn since I was Six, and still stay with her. Shawn and her ex husband took me in as another child. The day I could tell her ex husband had changed, I looked him in the face and told him I didn’t like him, somethings not right. Ever since the separation me and their daughter were no longer to have contact. Shawn is not the person these people slander her to be. Shawn was and still is an amazing mom, and a great life coach. Every time I needed something she was there. I know Shawn’s innocence needs to be shown, because she is completely innocent. Her choices before, may haven’t been something all great. But, we all have flaws, and we all make mistakes. This women is the greatest strongest women I knew, and it’s time this has come to an end. Shawn is and has always been my second mom and always will be. It’s a shame on the North Carolina courts and the people that have slandered her.

    Like

    Comment by Brittany | May 9, 2013 | Reply

  16. I feel your pain. I actually had the SOB Lee britt as an attorney at the time he switched over to dss.

    Like

    Comment by Jason Shupe | May 17, 2013 | Reply

  17. Children grow up, and they all want to know their Mother and Father it is only human nature, by preventing Shawn from seeing them will only make them turn away from all the paternal family when they become adults.As for the comment from Dana Schmidt on 1/5/13 I am sorry but I do not believe you, if you loved Shawn you would make sure she had a relationship with her son and her daughter and help her to be a part of their lives not bad mouth her.I do not know who is right or wrong, but I do know that children have the right to know their Mother.KARMA is a bitch and please be careful those children do not tiurn against all of you. Life is very short and having children living in a family that hates their Mother will affect the way they feel about themselves, because every time you say bad things about their Mother,. you are saying bad things about half of them.Remember you would not have those children if she had not given birth to them she carried them under her heart and felt them move, she will always be their Mum and you or any member of your family can never never change that.

    Like

    Comment by Australian Mother | May 27, 2013 | Reply

  18. Let this woman see her children !!

    Like

    Comment by Nici Wright | July 8, 2013 | Reply

  19. I will say right off the top I cant spell that good but I will give my opinion. My cousin is not a liar she is a good mom. to the kids father side of the family maybe you guys need to start thinking about the kids instead of thinking that your son is always in the right all he wants is the money in the house he already has another girlfriend trying to play mom

    Like

    Comment by angela | July 13, 2013 | Reply

  20. and maybe the kids are having nightmares because everything that the father and grandparents and everybody is putting in the kids head maybe they really want to be with their mom does anybody ever think of that does the courts ever asked the kids want they want without the dad or grandparents around maybe they r to scared to say in front of them want they really want start thinking of the kids maybe he is using them so you don’t have to deploy anymore and I was his only excuse so you would have to deploy

    Like

    Comment by angela | July 13, 2013 | Reply

  21. My fiance has been dealing with Onslow county and DSS and Judge Jones as well with NO REMEDY! THIS IS THE WORST SYSTEM EVER! She refuses all contact between him and his 12 year old twin daughters, he has been in MAXIMUM SECURITY for 5 days over some BS failure to appear charge/CHILD SUPPORT……when he went to his custody hearing (we live in Pennsylvania, 700 miles away due to her moving to Jacksonville without his knowledge) he was arrested while his ex and their adult daughter watched. NO ONE WILL HELP HIM.He received a total of 5 weeks visitation A YEAR?! We had them over the summer after having ZERO contact for 211 days with them, and after the FIRST day with us they called their mother and told her they wanted to be here and could they just try it….of course she refused and drove here with the local CYS office and snatched them right out of school (yes she knew they were starting school here because she agreed) them BAM Blindsided by her and the corrupt system! NO ONE EVER TALKED TO THE KIDS, THEY COULDNT SAY GOODBYE TO US AND LEFT ALL BUT THE CLOTHES ON THEIR BACKS!! WE WATCHED THEM CRY AND SCREAM AS CYS MADE THEM GET INTO HER $70,000 JEEP THAT SHE BOUGHT WITH HER LOTTERY WINNINGS WHICH SHE NEVER REPORTED….How do we stop this madness? Care and control?? They arent even described as CHILDREN, They are OBJECTS, POSSESSIONS, THINGS???? I hope something changes, because we have written to all government officials and senate and no one cares about any of it, its all about the money and child support wont even return his calls so he can straighten out yet another warrant for THEIR MISTAKES…UGH HELP!!!

    Like

    Comment by Laura L Lakatos | October 20, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

